“Liberation”

Jess Brooks
Intersectional and Crossectional
1 min readJun 13, 2016

--

“seeing as how I love Harriet Tubman and Beyonce I decided to add my own verse, “You know you that bitch when you cause all this liberation”, and before I could blink my eye people started adding their own lyrics. It was a glorious thing to behold and it struck me, as I saw more people contributing, that it would be pretty neat if there was a remix version of “Formation” called “Liberation” sung by Harriet Tubman with special guests. I mean, she is after all , the Mother of Getting Folks in Formation and we all know she did not come to play. #Slay

After I had gathered some of the wittiest lyrics from Luvvie followers I sat down at my computer and created “Liberation”. I posted it on Luvvie’s site and people loved it! Honestly, the outpouring of love it received was beyond touching. I don’t think I have ever been on any comment thread and there not be one single hateful comment. Thinking about it right now makes me want to cry.

We talk a lot about how social media is tearing us apart but this day I saw social media bring people together.”

this is fun :)

Related: “Beyoncé’s Lemonade is #blackgirlmagic at its most potent

--

--

Jess Brooks
Intersectional and Crossectional

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.