Dear President Trump: Not All Immigrants Are Criminals

Giselle
Intersections South LA
2 min readApr 20, 2017

If you were to walk through my community of South Central you would experience much more than you think. Here, we have many undocumented families.

They are hardworking women like my mother who stands for hours sewing dresses at crowded and hot factories. They are the raspado man, maybe a grandfather, who struggles to push his cart across miles of streets just to make a little money. They are people who work outside in the fields just to pick fresh fruit for you to eat.

A sewing factory at the corner of 60th and Central Avenue.

They are immigrants who want to succeed in life, not “criminals, drug dealers, rapists,” as you have said.

I understand some people make mistakes, but it’s not representative of all of us. I come from a family of hard workers and fighters who deserve an opportunity. My grandparents worked long hours picking fruit in the fields of Mexico and taught my parents the value of honest work.

My parents came to this country to find a better future because in our pueblos, there are no jobs. Today, they work tirelessly at jobs that don’t offer the best pay, but they do it so my sister and I don’t go through the same struggles they did.

I hope to take what my parents taught me, get a career, succeed and pass that onto my future children. I believe hard work and dedication is what we need to “Make America Great Again.” Is that what you want to do?

Sincerely,

Giselle

For this series, student reporters with Intersections South LA partnered with Public Service Community High School at the Diego Rivera Learning Complex in South Los Angeles to hear students’ voices and help produce their letters to President Trump. Read and listen to more of the students’ letters here.

--

--

Giselle
Intersections South LA

I’m a 10th grade journalism student at Diego Rivera Learning Complex. I’m a South Los Angeles resident with lots of things to say about my community.