I remember church on Good Friday — 40+8 | Day 38

Mike Rusert
intertwine
Published in
2 min readApr 2, 2021

breathe in | breathe out

+

Question

What is possible for us when we tend
care-fully & skill-fully to these bodies?

+

Logion 29

Yeshua says,

If flesh came into existence
for the sake of spirit,
it is a wonder,
but if spirit exists for the sake of flesh,
it is a wonder of wonders.
I am truly astonished how such richness
came to dwell in such poverty.

+

Reflection

I remember going to church on Good Friday.
I loved the service. Dark and somber.
I loved the melancholy,
the drone of the hymns.

There was an honesty
underneath the shame.
Something more powerful
and real than the
exterior noise of “I crucified thee.”

Maybe it was, that in the quiet
and the shadow, I could,
at least for a moment,
put the show to rest
and allow myself to truly feel.

+

We are in the midst of difficult times.
Tar sands pipelines through our waters.
Police killing black people on our streets.
A second Easter on lock down.

Bodies divorced from land and spirit.
Bodies at war in themselves.
Casualties everywhere.
So alone.

+

I want to follow Jesus to that garden.
The place where he prayed.
Where sweat and tears and blood
poured from his body.

I want to feel what I’ve been running
away from and burying and numbing so long.
I want to come back to my body.
My body, lying on the cold ground.
Tears, warm on my cheeks.

I want to feel.
I want to listen and trust this body.
I want it to know care.
I want it to know it’s heard.

I want to care and listen
to this body
so that I may care and listen
to your body.
I want our Body to heal.

+

Tonight, with wind blowing
and moonlight, I will bow
down. I will touch earth with
my forehead.
I will pray in silence.
I will be still and allow myself to feel.

I will smell the soil
and let it remind me of who I am.
I will weep.
I will surrender to Her care.

+

--

--