(Pandemic) Noticings — a poem

Mike Rusert
intertwine
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2020

The red cap of a chipping sparrow

°

while I was sitting on the swing outside the house

cooling down from seeing red with my daughter and wife.

Seven whitetail deer walking

the edge of the small wood

as the sun set over Lexington Avenue,

°

and the seven eighths of my lungs

that I so often neglect filling

like in that argument with my daughter and wife.

The skinny tail of the Cooper’s hawk flying

over power lines and

my hands on the stroller

°

and the subtle grace in my daughter’s

thin-lipped

forgiving smile

An unusual (to me anyway) warmth, walking near

needle mulch

earth floor

under the limbs of a large spruce,

°

and a warmth in my heart towards my father.

The word “Welcome” on the kitchen magnet board

filled with chalk dust

photos of ancestors

smiles and our five-year-old’s poems

(Live as a guest here)

°

The pair of trumpeter swans

and the loons

keeping momentary rest on Como Lake

(We are all guests here. Remember to keep rest.)

Squirrels and mallards

mating and fighting,

°

and my preoccupation with myself.

The rabbits’ hole in the lilacs

that leads to dark

warm earth,

°

and the prayer shawl

giving warmth

as I enter the dark

of my meditation sits.

A new freedom to be

fully honest

in my journaling,

°

and the greening of earth after rain.

The misplaced beauty of

Siberian Squill,

°

and the ways capitalism

when divorced from

community and responsibility

becomes the individualism and materialism

(Empire, Colonization, Whiteness)

that displaces us all.

The generosity of the small

black bees carrying pollen

life

to the self and the whole,

°

and the continued generosity

of small but mighty

artists and organizers and neighbors and healers

(pollinators of community)

Working

in service of life

emptying & fulfilling the self for the sake of the whole

The sound of crunching and chewing

mice and moles

in well rested garden beds

as our Vizsla stalks a rabbit

while the Moon stalks Venus,

°

and the slow breaking down

composting of Never Enough.

The cosmos

all creatures

stalking humanity

in love.

The promise of purple fruit

in white flowers unfolding

from Serviceberry buds,

°

and the promise of

human transformation

initiating and unfolding

through the listening and suffering and resting and creating

of this Great Pause.

Live as a guest here.

Open gently to the awe and wonder of it all

Sit and feast on the enough before you

and remember to keep rest.

○●○

--

--