We said this year would be better…

Mike Rusert
intertwine
Published in
1 min readDec 31, 2021

We told stories
of the worst year
and how this one would be better

But COVID is still here
The pipeline is pumping tar sands
through our lakes and rivers
My church said my community and
I don’t belong
And that child tax credit
will expire today

It’s still the same old shit
Fear and Greed
and no Holy Imagination

I’m not writing this
for the sake of whining
or complaining
We don’t need anymore
playing-the-victim rants

I’m writing because I need to learn
an appropriate form of grief and lament
Because I need to move beyond
wishful thinking
Including the thought that
someone else will do it for me

I’m writing because
We need to pray
Pray and pray and pray
Until we become our prayers

These three
are the ones
that will be on my lips
and in my body this new year

Teach me joy in service
Let me see You in every thing
Surprise me


and the fourth
and maybe most important

Thank you

No matter what 2022 brings
with these prayers on my heart
and in my hands
All will be well

What will be
your prayers?

I pray they will be so

--

--