Career Horror Stories: I’m Investing in Myself

Interview10K
Interview10K
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2017

“I have almost 3 years of experience in this industry, and I’ve been in training for my next position for over 4 months. It’s just a little frustrating since I was told I would only have to train for a month.

“I understand that my manager needs to feel confident that I can handle the new position. That’s why I’ve been putting in extra time and effort to show that I can do it. You have to invest in yourself, right?

“I’m pretty sure I have most of the responsibilities as the position I’m training for. The thing is I don’t want to push it and bring up my salary too soon. Every time I talk to my manager about the position he just says we’ll discuss it but he’s busy with the restructure we’re going through right now. If things are changing, I definitely don’t want to rock the boat. I just hate this waiting game.

“I know. If I didn’t want to wait, I could maybe make more at a different company. But I’ve already put in the effort here. And besides, I like working here. The people are nice. That’s worth a lot, you know?

“It probably would have been good to get everything about the training period and promotion in writing. But it’s not like I could force them to write it down.

“At least they let us know how they appreciate everyone’s hard work and patience. They said during the last meeting how they are investing in us, which felt nice. I think when we’re able to streamline our processes things will be a lot more efficient so employees can a little more time to focus on quality of our work.

“I do want to keep going, I actually like this place a lot. I just hope I can get started funding my retirement soon. I haven’t made a 401k payment in a while…

--

--