Career Horror Stories: Waiting for the Other Shoe to Drop

Interview10K
Interview10K
Published in
2 min readOct 21, 2017

“I’m sitting here in our open office, alone to my thoughts. Everyone around me is busy, moving forward with work and presumably their careers too.

“And I just know I’m gonna get called in for a meeting one of these days.

“It feels like every morning I’m secretly hoping it’s today so they can just get it over with.

“I’m not really sure that I’ve done anything specifically wrong, but I have this overwhelming sense that they don’t want me here. That they don’t need me here. And the reason it feels so bad is I have absolutely no idea what’s coming next.

“Who would I even reach out to about this? It’s not like I can go to HR. And I don’t have anything else lined up. A guy like me…it’s not like recruiters are knocking down my door. The only people looking at my LinkedIn are the occasional college friend or family member.

“To be honest, I don’t even know how I have this job. Man I just feel like I’m out of place in this world. And I don’t know how I’m gonna ever survive what comes next.

“I’ve felt for a long time that I need to come up with something sustainable. Something I can work towards, really sink my teeth into. But for the time being, I’m pretty sure soon enough I’ll be dead in the water. And there’s nothing I can do to stop it.

“I have absolutely no idea what’s next for me career-wise, but I hope it’s better than this.

--

--