STEM Focus: Isabel Bolger, Microsoft

Sam Sawchuk
InTheirShoes
Published in
4 min readNov 12, 2017

Determination

What are some challenges you faced when developing your presence?

Since I am at the very start of my career, I’m still navigating what it means to be a woman in STEM. In the first few meetings with my team during my internship at Microsoft, I was nervous about making a single mistake. The nervousness came from what I had heard, in general, about gender inequities in tech, and I was putting a lot of pressure on myself to be successful. I really wanted to show that women are capable of doing anything a guy is capable of doing. Once I recognized what I was feeling, and why I was feeling that way, I realized that the only thing I could do was try my best and be confident. With confidence, and the fact that Microsoft has an inclusive culture, I became much more vocal and my opinions were heard, allowing my presence to develop.

Was there any point when you thought it was over?

I have not reached a point in my career where I have thought that it was over, but through my experience with working with adults in internships and networking, I have an awareness that this type of feeling could possibly come in the future. Youth programs such as Girls Who Code and Chick Tech are very beneficial for young girls like me to prepare for what’s to come. I’m aware that I may feel loss, or hopeless in the future, but this awareness will allow me to successfully manage anything that comes my way.

Flexibility

How important has flexibility been in developing your presence/voice?

I’ve always been very ambitious, and I always find myself in new situations. Each time I am submersed in a new experience, it’s a bit uncomfortable for me. However with every new one that passes by, it gets easier and easier to adjust, because I had the previous experience to learn from. Through these experiences, I’ve learned that flexibility is needed in new and uncomfortable situations. It’s definitely not always easy, but it’s good for me, and taking on a new role or responsibility becomes less daunting each time. Flexibility is a skill that has allowed me to find my way in new situations and be successful no matter what the circumstances are.

Imagination

What was your spark, where did it come from?

I took my first computer programming class in 7th grade, where I was able to make my own video games. The games that I created incorporated art, programming, sound, and design. I learned that with computer science I was able to express myself and make things that related to passions of mine. Whether it is a mobile app that fixes a problem that I care about or a form of entertainment such as a simple game, computer programming allowed me to impact the world big or small. Even though I’m from a tiny island in Washington, computer science taught me that no matter who I am, I could make a difference with technology. As I got older, I started broadening my thinking related to how I could help others like me feel welcomed and invited into the STEM area of their choice. I am very thankful that I was given the encouragement to pursue computer science and to learn more about programming, but I also realize that not every girl receives this type of support. Through volunteering with Chick Tech and Teen Science Cafe, I was able to speak at a kickoff workshop and plan speakers’ series where I could help encourage other girls to pursue their own passions. With computer science I can improve the world through innovation, and through helping others I can help to build a larger community of aspiring females that are interested in areas of STEM.

4. What are your non-work habits that help you with your work-life balance?

I’ll usually find an activity, such as playing my guitar that stimulates my brain and soul in a way that benefits my work. Producing music and programming are actually very similar, because I have to look for patterns so I’m using a lot of the same skills when I’m coding or making music. Through playing the guitar, my hobby improves my work, and my work makes me a better musician.

5. What is your best tip for people looking to get into this space?

Find a personally relevant, emotional connection to your company or organization. For instance, I drew nourishment from Microsoft’s culture, which promotes teamwork through helping others and leveraging the help of others. This approach mirrors my worldview and made the working environment one that I could thrive in. There are many areas within tech that you can work in, so pick an environment that you fit in with so your values are not in conflict with the company’s. This allows you to be removed from drama and unnecessary obstacles, and you can feel supported and comfortable within your work environment and your relationship with your peers. Soon, the work becomes about changing the world and making each other successful, which is the way it should be, and it is a very happy place for you to be in.

--

--