Free online ALM / Azure DevOps Office Hours

Pieter Gheysens
Into ALM
Published in
3 min readApr 1, 2020

2020 turns out to become a completely different year than expected. Looking back into my expectations for 2020, it’s scary to see that so many things in life are/were taken for granted. Because of the current COVID-19 situation and lots of uncertainty about what’s going to happen worldwide in the next couple of months we already have cancelled all our Techorama conference plans in 2020 and I’m also noticing the (future) impact in our other business models. And what about the result on our personal lives and the way we connect with our friends and family!

Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

Luckily, we (humans) are the most adaptive species in the world. Time for applying another feedback loop and inspect-adapt-deliver. Business as usual for people living in a fast moving technology area right?

Getting ready for a new experiment and introducing the free online ALM / Azure DevOps office hours where everyone (students, hobbyists, professionals, consultants, companies, …) can book a free time slot to discuss any question they might have in a one-to-one conference call. My expertise might help these people to quickly unblock a situation or you can use this time to get a 2nd opinion on your (Azure) DevOps roadmap. Maybe I can become a mentor for people wanting to dive deeper into the exciting DevOps world?

Why?

I already got this idea a few years ago but I never took this to the next level. There are only 48 hours in a day :-). With the increased “working from home” time I have done a ton of conference calls for different customers in the last couple of weeks and I discovered that I really don’t have to be on-site all the time to make a difference and sometimes the solution a customer is looking for is just some pointers away to guide them into the right direction. What seems complex/difficult for them might be easy and straightforward for me.

Last week for example in a remote conference call, I have come up with a simple (out-of-the-box) solution in 5 minutes where 2 external consultants have spent already 2 full days in trying to fix the issue.

Being connected to the right people is a tremendous advantage and I also use my (Xpirit / Techorama) network a lot more to get instant feedback on my questions or to redirect other people who I cannot help immediately. This reminds me of this interesting book I have read in the past: The Network Always Wins.

The idea of sharing knowledge also fits 100% in the Xpirit business model and giving something back to the (developer) community has always been in the back of my head when launching my career and learning from the advice/insights from other people.

In my remote working days where I’m not working full-time for one customer, I often have some gaps in my agenda and I will be opening these hours for experimenting with the free online ALM / Azure DevOps office hours.

I’m very curious how it will work out! Looking forward to help as many people as possible! Nothing to lose! Everyone wins!

--

--

Pieter Gheysens
Into ALM

Visual Studio ALM MVP — Managing Director Xpirit Belgium (2018) — Founder of Techorama (2014) — www.techorama.bewww.xpirit.com