Pretend You’re Dead. Then Write Your Truth.

Stellabelle
Into The Raw
Published in
4 min readFeb 7, 2016

You can’t get mad at a corpse for telling the truth.

What do I mean by this?

One of my entrepreneur mentors recently told me I have a skill that is in short supply: telling the truth no matter how raw that truth is. He said my writing reminded him of a child’s approach, which means that it isn’t concerned with outcomes or ego. This is true. I write to communicate my deepest thoughts that currently have no ears. I’m dying to be heard after being so quiet for my entire life. I write to understand my truth.

So, how do I do this? Writing the truth is difficult, but why do I find it easy to do?

It’s so much easier to tell the truth and write with clarity once you pretend you’re already dead. Pretending you’re dead effectively kills your ego, deletes your shame and allows you the freedom to express what your truth actually is.

The major roadblock to writing in the case of confessing your truth is the harsh judgment from others you believe might occur as a consequence. Or you might be scared your boss will fire you if he discovers your deepest truths. Or you’re afraid that your views might offend your relatives.

I used to be afraid of all these things, too. But then I got rid of my bad boss that was constricting my airwaves. I got rid of my bad relationship that was limiting my possibilities. I have mostly banished my fear of offending relatives. I’m still working on this one, though.

Fear is a very destructive emotion. Fear keeps us insulated from discovering who we actually are. Fear debilitates the truth and most people are afraid of admitting their truth.

When you tell your truth, you can no longer continue lying to yourself. Telling the truth also leaves you vulnerable to other people’s judgement. But telling the truth brings people who genuinely like you to your doorstep. The truth brings people together in a happy, non-judgmental way.

We humans were raised in a pack and we care deeply what the herd thinks of us. If we go out on the precipice by ourselves and express our truth, we risk being outcasted, which our brains interpret as death. However, if the truth teller already feels like an outcast, then it’s much easier to continue telling the truth because becoming an outcast is not viewed as a threat, it is already a reality.

So my method takes this outcast idea a step further and conceives of a future time when I will no longer exist. What truth is worthy of exploring from a future point when I won’t exist? If I’m already dead, I can’t write about bs. That would be a complete waste of resources. If my ego is not alive, then I’m forced to write for a different purpose. I am forced to write about things that I think matter.

It’s taken me a lifetime to acquire the necessary guts to tell the truth. There are still some truths that I don’t yet want to confront but that amount is diminishing. Quitting my alcohol habit has helped me achieve a clearer way of viewing life. Also, I’m no longer trying to impress members of the opposite sex. Trying to attract a mate is a surefire way to lying and boasting. I used to fluff out my feathers, boast and lie in order to get the attention of some men. Trying to attract others is a distraction I simply don’t have time for.

I write in order to make sense of my mental chaos and to freely explore ideas. I never considered myself to be a “writer” but I’ve kept diaries for many years. I record events with my mind then transfer those events to a computer or camera. I no longer worry about what people will think of my stuff. This truth serum skill takes time. The one thing I ask myself while I’m writing is this: “Am I telling the truth or lying to myself?”

I used this method in order to write my Medium post, I Had Sex For The First Time When I Was 8 Years Old. It was a very painful memory however when I imagined myself dead in the future I was able to separate my emotions and feelings of shame from the writing process. I was also able to distance myself from the experience and that is a very important part of writing your truth. I think it’s very difficult to write about things that are happening now. Time and distance create a better understanding of the true events that shaped you.

I have nothing to prove and no one to impress now. I’m fortunate I’m still alive. I’m writing because my mental stability depends on it. And I think the world would be a better place if we all started telling the truth.

I cling to idealism and the concept of utopia because those notions thrive within my nightly dreams and imagination. And I would guess that those notions thrive within your deepest consciousness, too.

There is a curious child who resides beneath the layers of your jaded adulthood. This child is color-blind and knows no religious texts. This child loves without shame, gives without greed, dances without regret and smiles without fakery. This child has been in the shadows of your mind, waiting patiently for you to find the strength to release him/her from the prison of your adulthood.

This is how you tell your truth.

--

--