Image credit: Gili Benita

The Worst Gay Man Ever

Sean Howard
Published in
2 min readApr 2, 2016

--

This one goest out to Ray Delizo. He is only partially responsible for the topic. Mainly, he inspired me with being open on Medium and talking about things that I had long locked away as off limits. Based on how this goes, I may shove these words back into their lockbox in my entrails.

I loveneedadore cock. I have nothing against other body parts, but a penis is beautiful in a forceful and arousing way. I can’t get enough!

But here’s the problem. I can’t speak with a lisp. My house would make the dirtiest college bachelor cringe and run away in fear, but not before tripping over something half-dead in the piles of dirty laundry and plates.

My wardrobe is so sad that my straight friends take me shopping.

I feel like the most ridiculous gay man in existence.

When I tell my gay friends that I have been in a monogamous relationship for over 15 years, they are beyond stunned. But, here’s the thing. They don’t use the M word like I do. For them, monogamy somehow allows for sex with strangers in a spa and on-demand Grindr fucks.

I’m clearly missing some key cultural reference or DNA strand. I cherish what my partner and I have, and yet a part of me is fascinated by the hedonistic lifestyle of the “proper gays.”

Before everyone leaps, I know there is no such thing as proper.

But I have also spent years hiding behind my “straightness”, using it as a shield to only partially come out of the closet. And so I have to wonder if my aversion to gym memberships, partying, people, drugs and anonymous sex is somehow tied to my desire to protect my not-so-secret, straight identity.

Fine. I don’t want the risks or pain and hollowness that comes from anonymous sex. But what about gossiping girlfriends, mimosas and Sunday brunch? Why can’t I have that?

Oh right. I’d rather shoot myself than engage in mundane banter about who is sleeping with whom, the latest celebrity sighting or boyfriend breakup story.

So I will just have to “gay up”, drink my mimosa and dream of penises in an apartment strewn with half-filled boxes, dirty laundry and fuzzy coffee mugs.

--

--

Sean Howard
Into The Raw

Sean is a brand marketer, podcaster and co-founder of Fable and Folly. https://fableandfolly.com/