When Father’s Day Rolls Around, I Won’t Be There

Jeffrey Field
Into The Raw
Published in
1 min readMay 9, 2016

I’m not your dad.

I’m not anyone’s dad.

I got a vasectomy at 21.

Did it for Carol, my first wife.

Emergency surgery for a tubular pregnancy.

Technically termed an ectopic pregnancy.

Grandmother reveals her three tubular pregnancies.

Maybe runs in family.

Carol is frightened.

Scared I will kill her.

I volunteer for a vasectomy.

Carol breathes easy.

I’m squirting skim milk fluid now.

Lifeless.

Childless.

I’m going to be 70 soon.

I have a mediastinal mass in my chest cavity.

CT scan reveals possible teratoma.

Doctor’s summary 5/5/2016…

I once again discussed the importance of the diagnosis of the etiology of his mediastinal mass and the need for a biopsy to confirm or rule out a possible malignancy and once again the patient declined any referrals for biopsy or surgical treatment of this problem.

Miracles surround us.

Stillness resides.

I am at peace.

--

--

Jeffrey Field
Into The Raw

It ain't what you think. Former newsman, car salesman, teacher. Everything is Thou, if you so allow it. You can find some of it at https://youtu.be/w6RtVjMDHzE