It’s your fault

Free-form Poetry

Mia Lai
Intimately Intricate
1 min readFeb 17, 2022

--

Courtesy of Mia Lai
Courtesy of Mia Lai

It is your fault.
It is their fault.
It is everyone’s fault except mine.

There are so many wrongs in the last paragraph.
Then is it my fault?

Is it okay?
They say, “it was my last chance,”
“I thought that I would regret, so I took the decision,”
“I am not staying here forever,”
“I did not think that things would turn sour,”
“I did not know there could be some repercussions,”
“I did not think you would feel bad.”

Then does it make it okay?
Then does it make up for it because they did not know?
Then maybe it was not their fault?
Maybe it was nobody’s fault.

Maybe I feel it was their fault because of how bad it made me feel.
But does it make it acceptable?

Maybe not acceptable,
But it is not as big of a deal.
It is nothing in the grand scale of life,
Or compared to how long or little we live.

The answer is that it doesn’t matter.
It doesn’t really matter.

--

--

Mia Lai
Intimately Intricate

Thoughts that keep me awake at daytime, wondering, pondering, invading the time I should be using otherwise.