Said the Night

Lubna Yusuf
Intimately Intricate
1 min readSep 21, 2021

--

Sonnet: Modern

Line Art Lubna Yusuf

‘We have met before’,
said the night as we sipped on the moonlight
Speaking of love and other accidents
‘Why must you sleep in this beauteous hour?’ she asks

‘To touch you once again
Breathe through our fragrance
Pressing my lips to end the war
I sleep to undream the sorrows of the heart…’

‘You carry within you an undying song,’ she says.

The old pond stirs as I throw in a pebble
It makes gentle ripples that I cannot see
We listen to each other in silence

And as the morning begins its ascent I finally understand,
darkness reveals far more than light

--

--

Lubna Yusuf
Intimately Intricate

BOOKS: www.amazon.com/author/lubnayusuf | Author, Lawyer, Filmmaker, Multidisciplinary Artist |Co-author TheAIBook | Instagram @iglubna