Sea Breeze

Esther Spurrill-Jones
Intimately Intricate
2 min readNov 10, 2019

--

Photo by Nick Jio on Unsplash

Her lips on the edge of the tumbler are soft, forming themselves around the glass almost in the same way the whiskey takes the shape of its vessel. Her eyes are bright in the low light, catching mine and boldly holding my gaze, arresting my breath. I stand and stare at her like an idiot, words lost to me.

She puts her whiskey glass down, amber liquid swirling, reflecting in the dark wood tabletop. Her lips curve into a smile and she lifts a hand, crooking a finger at me. I go to her as if I am a puppet and she pulled my strings.

She buys me a cocktail, but I merely sip it, intoxicated by her laugh and her eyes. She touches the back of my hand, just a brush of her fingertips, and I am lost.

Her name is Maris and she is the most beautiful creature I have ever seen.

We emerge from the close warmth of the bar into the cool night air. The salt breeze lifts the damp hair off my neck. Maris tips her head back and closes her eyes, taking in a deep breath of the fresh air. She slides her hand into mine, and my heart skips like a smooth flat stone across a still pond.

We walk together under the silvery moon, the ocean murmuring next to us, the sand soft beneath our feet. Her hand in mine radiates heat, keeping me warm despite the cold and damp.

--

--