Summer. Time of Renewal. Isn’t it? A Time of remembering?

Terijo
Intimately Intricate
Sent as a

Newsletter

6 min readJul 30, 2019

--

Wikimedia

It is, Right? All those memories. All of those things we should be honoring.

Personally? I have some very good memories of a woman who understood that the rather ubiquitous Cabbage Moth found on every lawn in every backyard would forevermore serve to represent something good. To me, and my sisters anyway.

Authentic.

Real….

To my Gran? It was a simple symbol for her grandchildren… for a time not too far in the future when she wouldn’t be able to talk to us anymore. A time when her failing heart would finally give out.

“Granny?”

“Ja, princess… What’s wrong?”

“You said you’d be leaving soon… How do I talk to you once you’re not here anymore?”

“Ach, Liebchen… You see that little white butterfly?”

“Yes, Granny. I do…?

“Anytime you see one of them? Know I am there with you.”

Sheesh, I miss her. She gave us four more years of wisdom before she was gone. I was fourteen when she left. And some forty-odd years later..? Her wisdom is still the thread I hold onto. Birds. Flowers. Warm air… And..? The memory of her and her gentle soul.

--

--

Terijo
Intimately Intricate

Tread carefully. Waking the Red-head is still not a good idea…💋