Treading Alone

Miss Anonymous
Intimately Intricate
3 min readMar 26, 2018
unsplash

I am in an ocean full of fish, all beautiful and unique. Some small and colorful, some large and strong. My hair and skin drip around them. That’s what they want. For me to stay wet, for me to stay in the dark as they circle around me. Either trying to catch me, or staying away out of fear.

I watch these millions of beautiful fish, yet I do not desire them. I hunger and tire of treading this shallow pool alone. But I would rather starve than not eat the one I want. Of course, it is my fish that is missing. Just the thought if it livens me. Remembering the taste of its tender flesh makes my mouth water. I want My Fish!

I tread further out, the water getting higher up my chest. Then, neck high. I duck my head under the water and begin to swim. I swim for what seems like hours. I swim until my body aches, until I can barely reach the surface for air. I am about to lose all hope in finding my fish and plan to turn back when, suddenly, I spot it.

There, in the distance, swimming right to me! I swim forward. I must be careful now, it may make a meal of me as well. The fish that tastes the best is the most dangerous one. I lie on my back and float, keeping my breath steady and my mind clear, although fear and excitement fill me.

My fish circles me like I am prey, making sharp turns and skillful jumps. I reach my hand carefully to it. I float a little closer, letting the waves pull us together. Then, I grab it. I hold it tight. It’s so powerful, it moves me back and forth, up and down. I am so afraid, but having it in my arms fills me with hope! I feel lucky and accomplished that I found it at all. Especially at the moment I was ready to give up and turn back.

I held my fish and let it move me wherever it wanted to go. I gripped it tight as it swam. I mounted it and rode it. I couldn’t wait to take it home and cook it. Sizzle it and eat it all! But wait… what would happen to my fish? I couldn’t do that. This fish is different. It is smarter and prettier than all of its kind. I do not have the heart to just eat it once and hunt for another like it. No, not this fish. I shall take it home and keep it in a beautiful tank. I will make it my pet. I shall care for it meticulously. Feed it, keep it clean, and keep it safe.

I was so proud of it! I wanted to display it. I invested in a beautiful home for it to keep it comfortable. Then, I watched it every day. And every day it filled me with joy.

Not long after it settled in the tank, I noticed my fish keeping to itself in the corner, hiding under the coral. Over time, it did not leave from under the coral. I had to shake the tank just to check if it was still alive. It would swim out, circle around, then go right back under the bed. This worried me. I love my fish, but I do not want it to suffer. It is used to the open ocean, miles of water for unlimited swimming space. Soon after realizing this, I decided to take my fish and set it free.

I went back to that shallow pool and let the tank down in the water. I waited until the temperature was comfortable, then I tipped the tank over and set it free. It sped away, as fast as it could. I tread the water a while and watched it jump for joy. Like it was thanking me for letting it go. The shallow pool was empty. No more fish at all. Nothing moving. Nothing to catch.

So I went back home, hungry.

--

--