Yellow Butterfly Series

When You Open Your Eyes

I have to get my own ship now

Jade Willow
Intimately Intricate
1 min readNov 24, 2021

--

Photo by Tiago Perestrelo on Unsplash

I have to figure out who I am without you

Soul stripping
Heart ripping
Gut wrenching
Tear jerking

All my life, I’ve been stuck at sea with you
But now I need to get my own ship
Let you be
So you can see
How much you continue hurting me

Round and round we go
Up and down we flow
In and out we tow
The heavy burden of life on earth
But I can no longer be your comfort, your hearth
I have to go, so I can stop getting hurt

Find me in your telescope
I’m always around
Filled with hope
I’m just no longer beside you
Trying to hold onto you with a unravelling rope

If you open your eyes
You’ll see the stars
The wisdom that always been given like the ocean tides

--

--

Jade Willow
Intimately Intricate

Jade Willow enjoys writing eccentric poetry for her readers. She also enjoys cups of tea, books, comfy socks, and comfy chairs. twitter.com/poetjadewillow