When You Smile, You Light Up My World!

Robert Faron
Intimately Intricate
1 min readFeb 14, 2019
randy-kinne-1136552-unsplash.jpg

A light shines as I enter our bedroom,
You drift like snow on a hill,
Curled into your pillow.
Breaths gently flow across your lips
Pulses of air in swirling tones.

I slide into bed, next to you,
Like a babe seeking a nipple,
Jostling your dulcet sleep as
Your eyes spring open,
Locking on mine, then you smile.

Forgotten are the darkened dreams,
Fears allayed, yearnings overcome,
Solitary quests abandoned.
As your gentle look wraps me in warmth,
Holding my gaze, soothing my cares, a narcotic to my pain.

My arms like tentacles slip under your dark voids,
Wrap to encase your limpid form,
As the mantle of love opens my heart,
My soul glows as a beacon to the lost –
When you smile you light up my world.

Copyright 2019 Robert Faron

--

--

Robert Faron
Intimately Intricate

Retired, but not from life and love, adding poetry to a life exploring metaphor.