Exploring Intriguing Algorithms

Parvez Kose
Intriguing Algorithms
1 min readJan 1, 2018

Inspired by 100 days coding challenge #100DaysOfCode, I decided to take on a year-long challenge, a weekly writing series that explores some interesting and famous algorithms out there in the world of computer science.

So every fortnight, I’d pick an algorithm concept, do a bit of research and write a post explaining the main idea and how it helps solve a particular problem and also discuss its origin, facts, and efficiency in terms of big-O

I’ll illustrate the concepts with a specific example and the source code of the examples can be found in my GitHub repository. I’ll be coding these problems mostly in C++ or JavaScript (JS is awesome — obviously, and also because it is the most popular language on GitHub).

Anything can be considered an algorithm, not going to constrain myself on this. I’m pretty sure I’ve used lots of algorithms in my career, so it will be fun to pick and investigate some, understand the underlying concept, the abstraction, when it is best suited for the job and when it should be avoided. This is going to be interesting…This is going to be a challenge!

--

--

Parvez Kose
Intriguing Algorithms

Staff Software Engineer | Data Visualization | Front-End Engineering | User Experience