Analytical reading strategies reflection

When it comes to analytical reading strategies, I think the most important thing is to check the resources and make sure that the author’s work is matching with the facts. When we’re reading someone’s work, it’s easy to take everything as facts, but it’s important to keep in mind that writers can be biased and are often giving their interpretation of things. This strategy not only support the 5 Cs, but any scholarly work that you might read. If I got to choose one, I’d say that this is important especially when analyzing “context,” because we need to analyze the past through the eyes of the people who lived it, and not our own perspective.

When reading Nash’s article, I tried to use the analytical reading strategies but to be honest it didn’t come very naturally. I tried to check the resources he was giving, but it’s not so easy to do so while you’re reading it. Although, I could understand the general idea of the article, I didn’t find easy to apply the strategies. For example, I struggled to find the author’s hypothesis and maybe he could’ve made it more clear in the text.

I personally loved using hypothes.is because it’s a smart way to critically think as a group. You’re not only expressing your own ideas, but also reading your classmate’s and commenting on those. Since we’re all gonna have to read the same articles, I think it makes sense that we use the same platform and interact as a class. I chose to reply to my peers a lot more than creating new annotation.

--

--