Analytical Reflection

Jasmine Billings
Intro to Historical Study
1 min readOct 6, 2021

The best strategy I used to get through the reading is really paying attention to what the introduction to each paragraph said. That first sentence tends to set the tone for everything and it geared me up for whatever I was getting ready to read. Out of the 5 C’s, I did focus on the change over time aspect because I do tend to compare and contrast the timeline I’m reading about versus life now. I was extremely helpful for me when I was reading the article from Nash, because unfortunately so much of the discrimination that was happening in that era is still very relevant now. With all the material, the analytical reading and the Nash article, the biggest struggle I dealt with is reading extremely dry material. If I don’t find myself interested in the article or whatever primary or secondary source material, I struggle to finish what I’m reading and often times missed the point the author is making. I think learning how to read through these things without completely glazing over and trying to focus on the main message I am suppose to take from it all is going to be something of a work in progress.

--

--