Historical Site — Old Town ABQ

Erika Veloso Alves dos Santos
Intro to Historical Study
1 min readSep 17, 2021

I had just moved to New Mexico when my roommate took me to Old Town Albuquerque, and I loved it immediately. It first caught my attention because of how different it is from the rest of the city. I don’t know much about its history, but I saw that it was founded in 1703 by Spanish families that were settling in the area. You can instantly notice the Spanish style when you see the little plaza and a catholic church nearby. The streets are built different and most of the architecture is adobe. It’s very interesting as you can almost feel like you travelled back in time for a moment, and that’s why I’d like to learn more about it and understand its historical value. For example, who are those families who lived there? Why did they move? Is there any historical event that happened in the area? Is anyone related to those Spanish families still living there?

After reading about the 5 Cs, I believe that this historical site addresses change over time. You can easily compare the structure of Albuquerque back then with what it is now. In this category of analysis we can understand what changed, what stayed the same, why it changed, and who was affected by those changes.

--

--