Primary Resources

Nicole Granone
Intro to Historical Study
1 min readOct 12, 2021

To me I think that looking at primary sources in a different way because it is a point of view of what really happened, from a different perspective. Secondary resources are ones that are maybe a reaction or more research that someone did and wrote about it. I think that questions like “Who wrote it or made it?”. This is a really good question because it gives the student wanting to really find a primary resource. Another question would be “What evidence does this source contribute to my research?”. This question is really important because it really gets you to think about your research and what you need to put into your paper. It is important to know what is a primary and secondary source. The reason for this is because it is important to know that it is a primary resource and what you are looking for in the sources. Trouillot’s distinction did help me a lot with understanding primary and secondary resources. I think that this is important with primary resources because it really helped me think about what evidence that I am using while researching.

--

--