Thoughts on Historical Study and Link to Final Project

Kyle Trujillo
Intro to Historical Study
1 min readDec 11, 2021

I am happy I took this class. I have always known that in a vague sense that history is important to me and that I am curious of the past, but this class and my recent reading has brought fidelity to my path. Reading has always been a relaxing, meditative, and creative activity for me and I am grateful to have found a field of study that relies on it. Models like the Five C’s provide a nice framework for me to keep in mind while researching, especially “context” and “contingency.”

I also enjoy reading philosophy and I find that field and historical study to have many mutual applications, especially since we have the benefit of hindsight by which to analyze events, behaviors, and zeitgeists. I am interested in continuing this blending of philosophy and history as I move forward in my studies. For my final project, I tried to approach the Pueblo Revolt with such a lens but I know that I’ve only begun to see that revolution truthfully. Revolutions are rife for analysis, much like Hegel did with the French one, so I am excited to follow my own curiosity on a subject that is my history as well.

Thanks to Professor Morgan and all of us in the class for making it a fun and thought-provoking semester. Here’s the link to my final draft:
https://medium.com/intro-to-historical-study/pueblo-catholic-syncretism-unto-revolution-a-cursory-look-a3aa8d2abc38

--

--