Unit 4 Week 1 By Kameron Blasiman

Kameron Blasiman
Intro to Historical Study
2 min readSep 28, 2021

During the reading of the book by Lovell, I had come to realize that its not as easy to just read something and put an analytical point of view on something you read as every single person in the world is bias in some form of way towards anything we do or think as it’s the things that influence us. If you could sperate yourself from said bias and get opinions from people around you that you do and don’t know you would be able to get an accurate point of view on not just your point of view but everyone around you at one point or another. This being said this thought would mean a strategy to get an accurate view on something being either correct or incorrect would mean get others to look at what you either read or wrote. This would allow context to be spread not just to you but also those around you and would need all those you ask to have either read the book and had given an opinion of their own not influenced by you. This would also go into complexity as its not just relying on your one opinion, that being said would also mean this could have the fault of to many opinions being right and wrong.

A second strategy would be slow and re-read the book which you must write about and make it where you look for key words that would be apparent in the question given as well as think of your point of view to the reading as a whole not just in one place, this would allow you to mix ideas and allow a collection to the source. Though this can change over time and allow one to change their train of thought on the questions as well as it would give a backup plan should anything fail, you would leave it be and come back later with a clear mind.

A struggle I had with reading Lovell was that the text was close together and I had kept messing up where I was and what I was reading about so I had to leave and come back at a different time allowing myself to get a clear mind and become more focused on the topic at hand. A thing that could help me read it a bit better would be as I said to leave and come back with a clear mind but as well as ask for assistance if I need it such as where I got so confused initially, I wanted to ask for help but found a way around it with the second strategy.

When it came to hypothesis I was actually confused how to use it as I never used a system like it before but over time I think people would ask questions and put an accurate opinion on something they are reading about, this being said you need time to apply it which not a lot of people can because of more classes or work or both.

--

--

Kameron Blasiman
Intro to Historical Study
0 Followers

I am going to CNM in my third semester and I am going for a History Degree with no specific area.