Week 3 Assignment

Jonah Sparks
Intro to Historical Study
1 min readSep 28, 2021

The Port of Los Angeles is largest commercial shipping port in the United States with the Long Beach port right next door ranking second. I find this place fascinating because of my own personal call of the sea. I appreciate maritime history and find the cosmopolitan nature of sea dwellers fascinating. I would want to learn more about why the Port of Los Angeles came to be the biggest instead of a place on the west coast such as Seattle, San Francisco, or San Diego. Obviously the reasoning could be because Los Angeles is the second largest city in America or the seat of the largest metropolitan area, but why not a more centralized location such as San Francisco or further north in Seattle? I believe my item addresses causality due to the idea that it begs a rigorous analysis of why the location is where it is. The historical significance of the Port of Los Angeles is found in the vast expanse of how big it actually is and the infrastructure available for large container ships to be repaired, loaded and otherwise assisted in matters of maritime significance.

--

--