HOW can I make a difference?

Fallon Leigh Smith
Why Public Health?
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2021
Linking health and education. Photo by Elchinator on Pixabay.

My aspiration when starting my undergraduate degree in Biology was to get into a lab-based role as quickly as possible. I’d loved science throughout school, especially the practical side, so my dream was to work in a laboratory. As I progressed through the modules, all wide-eyed and nervous about being in a more professional setting, I found I wasn’t that excited to be conducting experiments. Instead, I was quite content to sit in lecture theatres soaking up as much knowledge as possible, so I needed to get insight into other potential career routes. I spent my time working on extra credit modules and volunteering for external organisations. I found I liked working within the community, especially on outreach projects for school groups and families over the holidays.

So, as I came to the end of my degree in 2019, I was left with a dilemma. With no desire to pursue a job in a laboratory and a newfound interest in science communication, I decided to try working in an education-based role to see if I wanted to continue working with children. Rather than committing to a teacher training programme I succeeded in securing a job as a teaching assistant for SEN children. I was eager to start and pass on my passion for learning but was met with resistance. Many of the children were indifferent to school and those that were curious were at a much lower level academically than I had been expecting. The idea I had built up about engaging in scientific conversations and answering questions was halted to assist with basic Maths and English lessons. For a while I floundered in my new role, but with a bit of persistence and a lot of patience, I started getting to know the kids and built a relationship with them.

Months passed quickly and it was March 2020. Tensions were high as rumours of a new virus began circulating and news of a national lockdown surfaced. My school was required to stay open since our children were classed as vulnerable and we had nearly full attendance. Trying to make sense of all the rumours was difficult, and what I had previously believed to be an easy task of sending home those children at risk with medical conditions became an eye-opening experience. I can admit that I didn’t know many people with underlying medical conditions and was oblivious to the reliance on the NHS outside of emergency care. Learning how many children and family members were classed as medically vulnerable was shocking to me.

I volunteered to stay working during the pandemic and was confronted with the remaining scared students who didn’t understand what was happening. Their insecurities were fuelled by worried individuals at home and they sought out advice at school. Standard lessons were scrapped in favour of general knowledge and health education in why and how they could keep themselves safe. I thrived in this environment; we were passing on scientific advice and I was seeing first-hand the impact I could have on families with basic health education.

Slowly schools opened back up and several kids came forward about how they enjoyed our ‘lockdown lessons’ because they learnt why, but more importantly HOW to keep safe. I’ve taken this to heart and have started my own journey learning how we can keep our communities safe. For now, I am working within Rotherham Council as admin for the Community Protection Unit to learn more about the issues in my area. I want to know where my talents will help most and will start by learning about Public Health.

--

--