I resorted to turn my pain into action…

Mudakura Kudzai
Why Public Health?
Published in
3 min readOct 13, 2022

My dream had always been to be at the forefront of healthcare provision in my community. I always admired how the nurses and doctors at my local clinic handled themselves, their work and interaction with patients. The dream came to light after my mother got sick in 2007.The agony of watching my mother succumb to an “unknown ailment” (according to the doctors), my family failing to pay the hospital bills resulting in long term debts and physicians unable to help my mother stirred a drive in me to want to change the health sector. Then only 13 and growing up in a semi — rural town of Chinhoyi in Zimbabwe I realized how healthcare in my country was marginalized. My passion was further ignited 3 years later when I watched my dad’s physical and mental health decline after suffering a stroke and again, I was helpless. I surely needed answers and resolved to turn my pain into action by going to serve in the underserved communities.

Following high school, I volunteered with a nonprofit PLWHA organization at a local hospital in Chinhoyi. I interacted with the patients and learnt their lifestyle and challenges they faced with the healthcare system. From then I believed healthcare being a hybrid between science and culture hence I studied Nursing science at UNI. My experience at the hospital spearheaded my research study in undergraduate which investigated satisfaction levels towards HAART services among young women in Zimbabwe. The feedback challenged me to bring my classroom experience into people centered healthcare.

After graduation, in line with my goal to serve the less privileged, I worked as a registered nurse at Masase, in deep rural Zimbabwe. This opportunity made me grow as a nurse and a community health expert. I had to overcome language barriers as it was a Ndebele and Venda community and I was Shona, conducted group therapies and counselling which made realize the importance of psychological and economical support in patients especially those with chronic conditions (an area of research interest). I also realized the long distances our patients had to walk to access healthcare services and unaffordable medications. A masters in public health will enable me to be exposed to innovative research, high academic training and acquire effective skills and scientific decision making to change the healthcare status quo in the rural areas of Zimbabwe.

Still in Masase, I had the privilege to work with Masase Lutheran Development services in helping the vulnerable girl child. As an orphaned teenage girl I knew first hand how it feels like to not have anyone to ask questions about changes in my own body. We distributed sanitary pads in the community and taught girls at school about sexual reproductive health and their rights. This also fueled in me a desire to work and empower women in promoting good health and achieve gender equality. Acquiring an MPH will help me in achieving this goal.

I believe there is power in integrating new knowledge to make equitable healthcare policies across the world and improve health outcomes. Working in rural areas in my country made me aware of the challenges most people in rural areas are facing, poor accessibility to healthcare services and essential medicines due to lack of finances and knowledge. A master in public health will enable me to develop and research more so as to evaluate and improve the effectiveness and accessibility of essential health services and access to safe, effective, quality and affordable essential medicines and vaccines for low socio-economic status.

a man transporting his ill wife to a nearby clinic (5km away) in a wheelbarrow

--

--