London Calling

Meredith Noble
Why Public Health?
Published in
3 min readOct 9, 2021

Growing up in America, I was taught that we were the best and everyone should strive to be more like us. It wasn’t until I attended university that I was able to break through my bubble and understand more of what was really going on in my own life and country. This realization, alongside my journey towards science and public health education is how I ended up applying to a UK university and started my journey to get involved with the NHS.

I spent 5 semesters getting an Associate’s in Liberal Arts & Science and it was there that I realized I mostly enjoyed my science classes. Normally, students take 4 semesters to get an associate’s, but early on I was diagnosed with a thyroid disease that was severely impacting my day-to-day functions. It took 5 months until it was diagnosed and treated, so I was part time for a bit which slowed me down. I was so happy when I finally graduated and could move towards a degree in a more science centered field.

My graduation, Dec. 2020

I transferred to a new university and received a Bachelor’s in Biomolecular Science. I loved my classes and was thrilled that I had finally found something I wanted to pursue as a career. I graduated in December of 2020 and was told I could either move to Arizona with my parents or stay in Connecticut and live on my own. I knew I wasn’t ready to live on my own yet, so I decided to join my parents and move across the country.

Once we arrived, I found a job at a local non-profit research organization doing genomics research on local COVID-19 samples. This was my first step into the world of public health. I really enjoyed knowing that our work was helping local public health officials track variants across the state. I was finally fulfilling my dream of helping others. Working alongside our epidemiologist got me interested in more than just the laboratory research side of public health, but also the data collection and analysis aspect of it. With a new career path in mind, I was faced with the reality of where in the world did I want to work and start my life?

Everything had led me to this life changing decision, and I quickly realized that I had no interest in staying in America. I had become aware of what the world truly thought of us, and frankly, I agreed. Especially after witnessing how the pandemic was handled. I was embarrassed by my country’s behavior. Looking back, I could understand how this behavior was a pattern. I remembered how white-washed my high school history classes were. How strange it was that I thought it was normal to weigh a medical emergency against the cost of an ambulance. How I hadn’t thought twice about waiting 5 months for the proper diagnosis and treatment of a condition severely impacting my daily life, and so much more. I knew I didn’t want to raise my children in the same environment I had grown up in. I wanted to be part of a system truly dedicated to its people and not just capitalism and outdated concepts.

This is why I’m getting a Master’s in Public Health. To understand global ideas of healthcare and to someday work with the NHS. I hope to get involved with a public healthcare system that is more patient centered than money centered. I look forward to this new life where better communication and trust between healthcare workers and patients leads to better outcomes and a healthier community.

--

--