Why do you have a moustache, aren’t you a girl?

Lucy
Why Public Health?

--

I have been hairy my entire life. I assumed that this excess hair growth was a necessary evil associated with puberty and was only so visible due to my black hair and pale complexion. At the age of 14, bullying became so distressing; I began having laser therapy to remove the excess hair. Around this time, I was subjected to many medical tests where professionals informed me that my hormones were unbalanced, and I had cysts resembling those associated with Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS) surrounding one ovary. However, due to my young age, I was advised to wait until I was 18 for further treatment.

I suffered through my teenage years whilst enduring agonising periods which prevented me from enjoying the same activities as my peers. My PCOS resulted in me being unable to drink alcohol and eat junk food. As a result of this, I had to stick to a gluten and dairy-free low FODMAP diet.

As soon as I turned 18, I began asking doctors for treatment for PCOS. For years I was told my symptoms were just a normal aspect of being female and to try oral contraceptives, however, these just made the symptoms worse. Eventually, I was seen by doctors who assessed me for PCOS. After an extremely rushed scan and a cursory examination of the most recent blood test I was told there was nothing wrong with me and to just take more paracetamol.

Fortunately, I grew up with well-off middle-class parents who immediately paid for numerous assessments in private hospitals. Within a month I was diagnosed with endometriosis and PCOS, something I had waited years for on the NHS. I am now finally awaiting surgery to alleviate some of the pain caused by these conditions.

This experience inspired me to study public health before starting my dentistry degree next year. The inaccessibility of healthcare, especially for gynaecological health is shocking, as too many women are told that their symptoms are normal. Not only are women less likely to be properly treated for conditions like PCOS, but they are also more likely to be placated by being placed on inappropriate birth control. Had my parents been unable to afford private healthcare, my quality of life would have remained poor. Since starting to receive treatment, I have been able to live a more comfortable life and devote more energy to my studies and aspirations. Beginning an appropriate treatment course of medication allowed me to achieve a first in my Biomedical sciences degree at UoM and obtain a place in Dundee to study dentistry in 2022.

When I eventually complete my dental degree, I hope to use my experiences of health inequality to provide patients with efficient and high-quality primary care. I believe that it is of utmost importance to listen to all a patient’s concerns and take these into account during routine examinations. Catching preliminary signs of oral cancer quickly such as loose teeth and considering additional symptoms patients may be suffering from, for example, difficulty swallowing is particularly important to ensure a good prognosis. Diagnosing conditions early decreases the likelihood that patients will feel forced into accessing private healthcare. Sadly, private healthcare is a luxury not everyone can afford. Therefore, less well-off patients whose early signs and symptoms are not treated quickly may be forced to wait longer for treatment on the NHS and experience a longer period of poor quality of life coupled with a worse prognosis.

--

--