RELATIONSHIPS | THIS HAPPENED TO ME

I’m Insecure About My Relationship

“You’ve been together how long?”

Cassandra Here
Introspection, Exposition
3 min readJan 5, 2021

--

Couple loosely holding hands
Photo by Elizabeth Tsung on Unsplash

My partner and I will have been together for eight years come February.

We’re not married or officially engaged, and we’ve lived together for six or seven years, depending on whether we count the stretch of time I paid for an apartment I didn’t live in.

Eight years without obvious forward movement is a long time, and I have every belief that people take in that information and wonder why this guy hasn’t proposed and whether or not he ever will.

And that sucks.

But it’s not some random external judgment that I fear. It’s that I’m afraid of what our friends think, and I hope they’re not pitying me.

I hate the idea that they might think he doesn’t love me as much or just isn’t invested in the relationship as much as I am.

He’s much more reserved— not the type to be all lovey-dovey, or talk about the relationship even in front of friends. Whereas everyone knows that I was theoretically ready for us to get married years ago.

Now, were we actually ready to get married years ago? No, and I see that now. And I appreciate the time I’ve had to grow up that I never would have given…

--

--