Why Intelligence Isn’t Everything

Gloria Lassich
Introvert Writers Guild
2 min readMar 6, 2016

Let me just say that, since I was little, I’ve always admired, even revered, intelligence. As a child, I admired my oldest brother for his extreme genius. In adulthood, he actually turned out to be a jack wipe, but I won’t go into that. Some of my favorite fictional characters are very intelligent. Some examples include: Spock from Star Trek TOS, Picard, Data, & Guinan from TNG, David/Bruce Banner, &, I’m a little embarrassed to admit this, I also had a childhood crush on Murray (broken, taped spectacles & all) from Rip Tide. What can I say? I like geeky men.

My reverence for intelligence also led me to the view that I was inadequate because I felt that I did not possess enough of it. But here’s the thing: intelligence does not make you a good person. You could be the biggest genius on the planet, but if such intelligence is not balanced with humility, kindness, love, & respect, it doesn’t matter. An intelligent person whose personality is balanced by such qualities is infinitely more appealing, which is probably what accounts for the hordes of fan girls enamored with Tom Hiddleston & Benedict Cumberbatch. But I digress.

The curious thing about this is that in this superficial world in which we live, you’d think I’d feel more inadequate due to my lack of conventional good looks. I’ve always known I’m not pretty. One might even say that I’m odd looking. And while, to some extent, I do wish I was pretty, my outward appearance has never concerned me near as much as what’s on the inside. Am I interesting? Am I funny? Do people like me? And, of course, the kicker, am I smart?

I look at the intelligence of others, both in my own life & outside of it, & I compare myself, to my despair. However, I’m gradually learning that there’s more to a person than their level of intelligence. I’m learning that we can learn powerful lessons even from those who aren’t considered “smart”. And I’m also learning that a person’s true worth should be measured based on their character, not on how smart, funny, or interesting they might be.

In closing, will my admiration for intelligence cease? That’s doubtful, but in addition to intelligence I will look for & admire those other qualities, in others & in myself, that make a person truly worthwhile.

--

--

Gloria Lassich
Introvert Writers Guild

I’m a creative person w/many interests: beauty blogging/vlogging, digital artist/web designer, writing & reading. I’m a geek & an introvert.