Is Introversion A Condition?

Gloria Lassich
Introvert Writers Guild
2 min readDec 5, 2016

If you are an informed introvert, then I think you & I already know the answer to that question. Unfortunately, many do not. We’ve long been viewed as the inferior personality type, the type that needs fixed.

But in the past few years things have been looking up for introverts. Susan Cain’s book “Quiet” helped ignite the introvert revolution. Yet, there’s still a long way to go. An email I received today impressed that upon me.

My Mother is a classic extrovert’s extrovert. Super chatty, avoids silence, hard to get a word in edgewise. Don’t misunderstand me, I love my Mom, but we all have our flaws.

Every now & then I post different articles about introversion on facebook for my family to see (Education is the first step to understanding, right?).

Well, today I received the following email from my Mom.

I subscribe to this site and get all kinds of books FREE!
This one made me think about you and your condition.
I think you will love it!

Love,
Mom

Now, I do have many health conditions, so I was somewhat curious to see her recommendation. The title of the book? The Introvert Writer.

My first response was laughter, than annoyance. Then I stopped myself by asking why I was annoyed. Is it really her fault that the societal view of introversion is as something that needs to be fixed? Of course not! So, I figured the best way I could handle this, really the best way anyone can handle this, is to educate. So I sent her the following quick response.

Hi,
Thanks for sending me this.

Btw, introversion actually isn’t a “condition” any more than extroversion, it’s simply a different personality type.

I’m not upset or anything, I just thought I’d let you know since there are so many misconceptions about it.

Thanks again.

Love,
Gloria

I only sent this message about 45 minutes ago, so I haven’t received a response yet, but I thought it was important to say something. Not to cause drama, but to promote understanding. Originally, I wasn’t going to respond, but I realized I had to. How can anyone truly understand something if they haven’t been educated about it?

That’s my goal, to promote that mutual understanding which will lead to mutual acceptance & respect.

--

--

Gloria Lassich
Introvert Writers Guild

I’m a creative person w/many interests: beauty blogging/vlogging, digital artist/web designer, writing & reading. I’m a geek & an introvert.