From Treading Water to Making Waves: An Introverts Guide to being Professionally Prominent

Lesley Tait
The Introverted Executive Club
4 min readJun 30, 2024
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

I’ve recently been working with a client who, by their own admission, is “treading water” at work. As a coach with extensive professional training, it takes a lot of self-awareness and self-control not to flinch when I hear this.

Imagine that? Just drifting day after day. And not only that, being miserable with it.

But I don’t need to imagine. I’ve been there myself, trapped in that circle of self-destruction. And thankfully, I’ve broken free.

This experience is all too common among introverts in the workplace. Many find themselves going through the motions, feeling demoralised and out of place in environments that seem to favour extroverted traits. They struggle with a confusing mix of self-doubt, societal expectations, and a lack of understanding about their own strengths.

The Workplace Dilemma

So why do introverts often find themselves “treading water” at work? What makes the challenges you face in articulating your needs so difficult? And most importantly, how you can harness your unique qualities to not just survive, but thrive in your professional life.

Misunderstanding

The root of this struggle often lies in a fundamental misunderstanding of self. You may confuse your natural tendencies with a lack of confidence, failing to recognise the power of your introverted traits in the workplace. This confusion is compounded by societal messaging that frequently equates extroversion with success, creating an internal conflict between your natural inclinations and perceived professional expectations.

The Invisibility Trap

Treading water is the lesser of the two evils. Faced with the prospect of self promotion or keeping your head down, introverts will generally choose the former. This is often because you equate self-promotion with bragging, loudness and showboating. So you don’t do it and instead, keep your head down, under the radar and go unnoticed.

Thrive as an Introvert

But being visible and promoting yourself doesn’t need to be daunting or cringey. Here’s a strategy I’ve employed and it works every time:

  1. Own your introversion — What are your specific introvert traits? Get clear on what they are and what strengths you bring. For example, you might start meetings with high energy and have lots to say, but the longer they go on the quieter you get and less engaged you feel (this is me). In this example, I see the positive in that you’re a contributor and you have great ideas and opinions to share.
  2. Lay the groundwork and set expectations — I’ve been really clear with my colleagues and manager. They know I’m an introvert. I’ve been very up-front about this and I’ve also explained what it means. It isn’t that I lack confidence, that I’m bored with their conversation or that I can’t be bothered to get involved. They know that I really want to contribute and I will, but it’s likely I will also get fatigued long before they do and I’ll be quiet. They know I don’t like being put on the spot but if that happens, I’ll ask them to give me some time to reflect and come back to me for my opinion. When you’ve figured out the best way for you to work share it, don’t feel like you’re asking for the moon on a stick. You’re not, you’re just being open and upfront.
  3. Don’t succumb to pressure — Stay true to yourself, even if you find yourself in situations where there are more extroverted people around you. Avoid the temptation to measure yourself against them because self-doubt will kick in and you’ll lose yourself in that spiral. We’re all different and we can’t be compared to one another.
  4. Deliver with all your in-built excellence — When you’re clear on what you bring to the table and you understand your modus operandi, let people see your power. Let them hear your well thought through contributions, let them see the plan you’ve produced, show them what you’ve been working on. Then sit back and watch them be amazed, because they will be and then you’ll feel fabulous!

Building Confidence & Success

The more you do this the more confident and comfortable you will feel.

The journey of an introvert in the workplace need not be a constant uphill battle. By understanding and embracing your introverted nature, developing strategies to leverage your unique strengths, and advocating for your needs, you won’t just survive but thrive in your professional life.

Don’t be driftwood, life is too short!

Talk to me about your challenges about being an introvert in a corporate world. Book a free consultation call here.

Why not join my new Facebook group for introverted executives and quiet professionals. A space to unite with fellow introverts, share your challenges and get fantastic support.

--

--