Overcoming The Horror of Cold Calling for Introverts

Lesley Tait
The Introverted Executive Club
5 min readFeb 1, 2024
Photo by Robert Gourley on Unsplash

My entry into sales was gentle. I started as a Business Development Manager and spent a few years learning the ropes, winning tenders and even travelling across the world.

One day it came to an abrupt end, I got made redundant.

Of course I had to find another job and so it felt natural that I would follow a similar path. It was then I found myself in my first business-to-business direct selling role.

Holy crap. Talk about getting slapped in the face with a wet fish!

My job involved sitting with the business directory and cold calling. I hated it. Oh the fear — Would they be nice? Would they be awful? Would they make it painful for me or shout? And how do I prepare? Back in the day, the internet was on dial up and took ages to load just one page so my research opportunity was limited. The anxiety this caused me was huge but I had no option if I was going to make it.

Why is cold calling so difficult for introverts?

Cold outreach can be especially difficult for introverts because it requires us to push past our comfort zones of initiating contact with strangers. We tend to prefer minimising small talk and enjoy deeper conversations in our close circles. Having to put ourselves out there and sell to unknown contacts over the phone or email can feel energy-draining. Also, there’s always that element of thinking on our feet and being “on” that drains us. We thrive when we’re given time and space to prepare. We’ll likely overthink or feel self-conscious about how we come across, and the fear of rejection can also be paralysing. Ultimately, cold outreach involves a lot of activities that introverts don’t naturally enjoy or feel energised by. However, with practice and preparation, we can certainly overcome the initial hurdles and find success.

I managed to overcome this fear, I had to. I knew that I had 3 months to find my feet in my new job and then if I wasn’t hitting my numbers I’d be out the door.

How did I do it? By breaking it down.

Sales is just a process

Sales is just a process. It’s not a dark art and it certainly deserves the same respect as any profession. I figured out which parts I rocked at and why, and which bits I hated and then asked myself why. Cold calling was one of them. But I knew that if I got the chance to pitch, my closing ratio was high.

Here are some tactics I used to overcome the fear:

1. Be clear on the outcome

Ask yourself — what do you want from this call? Why are you calling them? What’s your goal?

Having a specific outcome in mind helps you stay focused during the call. The person you’re calling is likely busy so respect their time. Knowing your objective means the conversation will flow better because you’re hyper-focused on what you want by the end.

Is it an appointment? Is it to identify key decision makers? Is it to learn how to get on their approved supplier list? Be super clear and stay focused.

2. Prepare

There’s no excuse with all the tech and social media available. Not prepping is a recipe for disaster and if you can’t be bothered, you don’t deserve a shot at pitching anyway. Know who you’re calling, what you’ll say, and how you’ll share info.

Do your homework on the person — what’s their name? Business model? Pain points? Understand their market so you know how you can help.

Make a script if it helps. I did, although I never stuck to it. But it made me feel more confident and sound more confident.

3. Practice your intro

Sound like you, not the person at the next desk who seems to land every meeting. Be natural and make sure your pitch is smooth and has energy. If you’re not feeling it, walk around, get some fresh air or listen to music that energises you.

4. Talk to them like a human

When you’re anxious, it’s easy to spiral and think about everything that could go wrong. But remember, they’re just human with their own challenges and insecurities. Nobody’s perfect and nobody expects you to be. As long as you’ve prepped, you can be confident your objective is clear. So breathe deep, relax and go for it!

5. Start with small talk

A little chit chat can ease nerves and build rapport. But gauge it well. Your sixth sense as an introvert will help here. You’ll know if they want you to cut to the chase, and if there’s room for rapport building. So if you can, take time to start a relationship — people do business with those they know, like and trust. They’ll also be more likely to ask questions and be receptive to follow ups.

6. Be clear and concise

After the small talk, get to the point fast. Be clear on why you’re calling so you don’t waste their time. Remember, they’re busy and don’t have time to listen to you ramble. Be clear and concise so they understand.

7. Make a list of potential objections

Prepping for objections helps ease dread. Make a list and prepare counter arguments before calling, you’ll feel more relaxed. Remember, you can’t anticipate every objection anyway, so don’t beat yourself up if they challenge you on something unexpected. It means you’ll learn for next time.

8. Don’t take “no” personally

If you get rejected, don’t take it personally. They may just be busy or have no need for your product. It’s not about you. Be realistic — you won’t close every call but do learn from mistakes to improve for next time. You might want to ask why they said no, depending on their mood and tone.

The key for introverts is remembering that even activities outside your comfort zone can get easier with practice. While you may never learn to love cold calls, you can get better at them by preparing, having a clear objective, and not taking rejection personally. Focus on your natural strengths as an introvert — listening intently, connecting authentically, and crafting solutions tailored to customers’ needs.

Introverts often thrive when it comes to building rapport and having meaningful conversations once that initial contact is made. With preparation to push past the fear, introverts can excel at the parts of sales they’re wired for. Don’t let cold outreach keep you from a potentially rewarding sales career. Lean on your strengths and know that this one activity does not define you or your ability to succeed. With time and effort, you can master your prospecting prowess and be very successful doing work you love.

I work with female introverts in tech sales to help them become visible so they can get promoted.

If you’d like to talk to me about your career advancement you can book a call here.

Why not join my new Facebook group for introverted executives and quiet professionals. A space to unite with fellow introverts, share your challenges and get fantastic support.

--

--