To Baltimore, with Love

Rodney Foxworth
Invested Impact
Published in
4 min readSep 6, 2017

When I was selected for the BALLE (Business Alliance for Local Living Economies) Fellowship last year, I vastly underestimated the profound impact it would have on me. From the enduring friendships and partnerships I’ve developed with extraordinary leaders like Derrick Braziel (MORTAR), Anthony Chang (Kitchen Table Advisors), Jessica Norwood (the Runway Project), and countless others, to my own growth as a person and as a leader, BALLE has left an indelible impression on me. And so it’s a bit surreal that I’m now stepping into the role of BALLE’s executive director, succeeding the incomparable Michelle Long, BALLE’s founding executive director. It’s truly an honor and simultaneously extremely humbling to have the opportunity to lead an organization so deeply committed to supporting the most visionary local economy leaders, philanthropists, and investors in North America.

But much of the surrealness I’m experiencing is tied to acknowledging that my appreciation for BALLE and its leadership community is surpassed only by my love for Baltimore, my hometown, the place I’ve established my career, and where most of my family, friends, and long-time relationships exist. My love for Baltimore is tied to its people — community leaders and everyday folk — who exhibit resilience, integrity, and excellence despite the seemingly intractable systemic challenges facing the city. I won’t cite any of the dire statistics on health disparities, poverty, crime, or education, because that data has been discussed ad nauseam in Baltimore and across the country and I’ve had a hand in promulgating them over the years myself.

Growing up and living in Baltimore shaped me: My experiences here are why I’ve dedicated my career and civic life to advocating for racial equity, investing in local leaders and entrepreneurs, and challenging a status quo that disproportionately (and deliberately) excludes people of color from the economy. In Baltimore I discovered, learned from, and found inspiration in a community of leaders that has dug in and continues to fight day in and day out to make the city more equitable and prosperous for its residents. As my good friend Fagan Harris, co-founder and CEO of Baltimore Corps, rightfully pronounces, “Baltimore can be the greatest city in the world to change the world.” There is an abundance of outstanding, exemplary leaders throughout Baltimore. One of the city’s greatest challenges moving forward, as it has always been during my lifetime, is appropriately investing in and resourcing these selfless, tireless Baltimoreans.

Progress is being made. In the past two and a half years, I have witnessed a promising shift: there are growing numbers around the tables where racial justice, equity, and inclusion are discussed. Funders, investors, entrepreneurs, and innovators are increasingly engaged with one another, developing a shared understanding of needs, challenges, and a path forward. Baltimore is being recognized as the home of and a leading destination for social entrepreneurs, innovators, and changemakers. Nationally-recognized leaders like Laurin Hodge see Baltimore’s possibility: she moved her social enterprise and her family to Baltimore because of it. Her organization, Mission: Launch, will be changing re-entry as we know it. The dynamism that attracted her was the presence and work of other inimitable leaders and innovators that I have admired for years, like Brittany Young, Caryn York, Danielle Torain, David Harris, Damion Cooper, Tammira Lucas, C. Harvey, and Dayvon Love — to name a few, as there is no way I or anyone can do an exhaustive listing of Baltimore’s bevy of inspirational leaders. And over the years, native Baltimoreans like Jess Solomon have returned, bringing with them insights and skills they’ve accrued from communities across the country. The city is replete with remarkable talent and leadership.

Greater attention is being paid to Baltimore because of these leaders. I’ve seen and participated in the development of several initiatives meant to recognize and support the city’s growing leadership cadre: BMe (with renewed leadership in Baltimore under Damien Myers), Emerging Leaders, Elevation Awards, and Red Bull Amaphiko Academy to name just a few.

But despite progress, there is a great deal of work left to be done. As there is no shortage of strong leadership in the city, the work will continue. Invested Impact is deeply engaged with exceptional partners, like Baltimore Corps, to ensure that the work of building philanthropic and investment capacity for uplifting outstanding leaders, entrepreneurs, and changemakers, especially of color, continues in Baltimore.

While Oakland will become my home in the next few months, I remain committed to Baltimore. Invested Impact has written an upcoming issue brief Investing in Equity: Resourcing Social Entrepreneurs of Color, that explores the needs and underinvestment of African-American social entrepreneurs in Baltimore. Over the next few months, my colleagues and I at Invested Impact will engage our constituencies and partners on the brief’s findings and opportunities for expanding resources for the city’s exceptional community of African-American leaders and social entrepreneurs.

And with that, I want to thank Baltimore for all the ways in which it has propelled me forward, embraced and encouraged me, and prepared and provided me with the strength to pursue this next chapter.

--

--

Rodney Foxworth
Invested Impact

Co-founder of Worthmore, Inc. Impact investor & social entrepreneur.