An Instagram Story Brought Me to InVideo!

When your love for product goes beyond just work, it shows. We’re so happy to have found Shreya!

InVideo
InSide InVideo
3 min readOct 15, 2020

--

How did you come across InVideo?

Instagram had just released their music feature on Instagram. I was very excited and hence posted a supposedly “artsy” Instagram story. Sanket saw it and reached out asking how I created it as InVideo had been brainstorming on music as a core feature for video creation on mobile apps. He mentioned that since he is not a ‘social media person’, he uses Instagram for research. We got chatting and realised we had a mutual friend. Sanket ended up talking to her about this incident. She spoke highly of me as a Product Manager so Sanket was very keen on catching up, even though at that point I wasn’t looking out for opportunities. His persuasion skills and my interest in the media space got the better of me so we decided to meet in the Powai office. In the next turn of events, Covid hit the country so our meeting plans were scrapped, however a few months later Sanket reached out to pick up where we left off, and as a result I landed at InVideo!

What was your interview experience like?

My first call with Sanket was very exploratory where we spoke about everything from market opportunity, to customer segments, monetisation strategy, and culture. Nothing was off limits. This transparency was inviting and exciting at the same time. As a next step, Sanket asked me to think about a possibility of working together and if I was interested send across my resume (yes, he didn’t even have my resume). In the next conversion, I spoke to the Head of Product. Instead of throwing one of those curveball riddles, it was refreshing to hear him ask me about my weekends and friends. However, I, as a creature of habit, even ended up segmenting my friendships into intellectual and emotional ones! Finally, I spoke with my now fellow Product Managers, Kshitij and Ashish who instead of grilling me about the items on my resume were just inquisitive, curious to learn from my past experiences and more than willing to share theirs. Needless to say, through this interview process, I was sold.

Why InVideo?

May it be an unskippable ad on YouTube, short snippets on TikTok (oops, I mean Instagram Reels), or long form content on Netflix, we’ve all seen the importance of videos rise in this digital world, especially through the covid era. That demand combined with InVideo’s customer first approach, smart team, and honest culture really brought around the media enthusiast in me.

Finally, what’s one moment/incident that stands out in your time at InVideo?

In any meeting or call at InVideo you will realise that the team welcomes varied perspectives. It’s not an army of ‘yes-men’ but a group of talented, bright, curious individuals who want to hear and understand your thoughts and use them to make a better product, and a better company. I think this is also one of the primary reasons why it’s been so easy for me to get comfortable and bond with the team in spite of starting work remotely!

--

--

InVideo
InSide InVideo

The future of video creation is in the browser, across devices, collaborative and easy. With users in 150+ countries, here’s how we’re scaling InVideo.