How to be a winner in the Interview Games

Or, be shown the door after a misstep

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career

--

Photo by Michał Parzuchowski on Unsplash

Obviously, I interviewed a bit during my career to land the jobs that I had. However, not as much as you might think, thanks to warm intros and having good champions inside the companies who helped me break into the hidden job market.

But, I did interview enough to gain insights into what makes for a successful interview. I received a job offer from every single full-time job interview during my 23-year career in Silicon Valley Tech. I’m not saying that to brag. I’m just saying that I know how the interview game works.

More importantly, I sat on the other side of the hiring table. I’ve screened and interviewed hundreds of candidates over the years. Some were for my team, many were for other teams. I’ve even interviewed candidates for my clients. When you deal with this many candidates, you witness the full spectrum of the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Some candidates were amazing and I’ve had the pleasure of watching their careers continue to flourish over the past couple of decades. Some flamed out spectacularly in the group interview. And, some didn’t even make it to the initial phone screen.

There are hundreds of books and thousands of articles on “How to interview,” so I’m not going to bother with the…

--

--

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career

I'm a Freedom Coach who works with you to optimize your professional career, lifestyle business, & personal life. Become Invincible! https://larrycornett.coach