How to build the foundation for a raise or promotion

If you never ask, you may never receive

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career

--

I often talk with my clients about maximizing their earning potential throughout their careers. In order to successfully negotiate raises and promotions, you have to demonstrate that your value to the organization is continuously increasing.

In other words, if you continue to do the work that you’ve always done, at the level of contribution that is expected for your current level, that is not enough. That is simply “meeting expectations” as we would state on performance reviews when I was a corporate exec. You may get a very small raise as a cost of living increase (e.g., 2–3%), or you may receive nothing.

You need to understand what the expectations are for the level above you, and then make a point of clearly performing at that level. It’s also important to demonstrate proof that you are operating at that level. It’s hard to justify a raise if no one is even aware of what you are doing (other than expecting your manager to take your word for it).

The business of your career

What I wish I had known even earlier in my career is how important it is to treat your career like a business. This is what I recommend to all of my clients.

--

--

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career

I'm a Freedom Coach who works with you to optimize your professional career, lifestyle business, & personal life. Become Invincible! https://larrycornett.coach