REMOTE WORK

How to Survive the Chaos of Working at Home

Roommates and children, and pets, oh my!

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career
Published in
9 min readJul 29, 2020

--

Small dog in lap as man works on laptop
Photo by Allie on Unsplash

I didn’t use to give much thought to classifying my work before sitting down to get things done.

Work is work. Right?

Of course, there were times that I knew that I needed to crank on some designs, work on a prototype, or finish a spec without interruptions. Trying to get work done under time pressure was a nightmare in an open office space.

Someone was always coming up to interrupt me. People were talking and taking calls. A myriad of other distractions ensured that I couldn’t focus.

So, I would leave to find a quiet room somewhere on campus. If I required a more massive block of focused time, I would escape the office entirely and find a coffee shop.

Sometimes, I would take a day off and work from home (i.e., blocking my calendar “WFH”) for better productivity. Funny, huh? Now every day is a work from home day.

Now you have your partner asking you to do something for them, instead of your boss. Your children distract you with their nearby play, instead of your coworkers chatting in the next cubicle. Your pet runs up and demands attention. Your neighbor starts blasting loud music.

--

--

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career

I'm a Freedom Coach who works with you to optimize your professional career, lifestyle business, & personal life. Become Invincible! https://larrycornett.coach