Photo by Evan Dennis on Unsplash

A Spooooky October Mystery

Can you solve it?

--

I was sitting alone at home, watching TV, around 10:00 PM. Suddenly, I heard a

CRASH

followed by a

CLATTER CLATTER CLATTER

coming from the kitchen.

Suspecting an errant canine exacting revenge for earlier… indignities

…I jumped from my chair and ran to the kitchen, only to find that

ALL OF THE REFRIGERATOR MAGNETS HAD FALLEN FROM THE FRIDGE TO THE FLOOR!

What could have caused such a thing, I mused to myself, wondering if perhaps we’d experienced a tremor. But, then why had nothing else fallen? Every other item in the house, no matter how delicately balanced, remained in state.

I picked up the magnets with an eye towards reassembling them on the fridge door. Suddenly, as I stood there, I noticed

A MYSTERIOUS RED LIQUID SEEPING FROM UNDER THE ICEBOX!

Given the season, is it any wonder that my thoughts turned to tales of blood seeping from walls in haunted houses, or mysterious apparitions manifesting in tile floors? Was this the beginning of another “Belmez Faces” situation, in which the horrifying faces on the floor of a family’s kitchen developed into a ghastly saga involving ghostly screams of tortured souls and an unmarked grave under the house?!

WHAT WOULD I FIND STARING BACK AT ME IF I OPENED THE REFRIGERATOR DOOR?!

FREAKING SCARY

Still, something needed to be done. So, I opened the door, ever so slowly….

What had happened? Can you solve the mystery of the Bleeding Fridge? Scroll down for the answer!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The problem was caused by “spirits,” perhaps, but nothing so dramatic as the Faces of Belmez. A bottle of homemade berry syrup in the fridge door had apparently fermented. Although I use swing-capped bottles to store my yummy foods, which should prevent this kind of thing, the seal must’ve been stuck to the bottleneck. As a syrup, the fermentation was unintentional, but some wild yeast probably snuck in when I had the bottle out on the counter.

When the pressure built up high enough,

BOOM!

As you can see from the picture, the force from the resulting explosion not only caused the magnets to fall from the fridge door, it also shattered one of our crisper drawers.

It turns out the most frightening thing about this whole situation ended up being the clean-up. The floor will probably never not be sticky.

POSTSCRIPT:

Before you laugh this off as a “rational explanation,” I’d like to invite you to consider one other possibility. What if “wild yeast” *didn’t* somehow sneak into the bottle? What if, instead, the fermentation was being accomplished through the medium of spectral microbes?

IT MAKES SENSE, IF YOU THINK ABOUT IT!

--

--

Jeremy Puma
Invironment

Plants, Permaculture, Foraging, Food, and Paranormality. Resident Animist at Liminal.Earth