I love making compost

Scott Gillespie
Invironment
Published in
2 min readNov 16, 2016

Our town overhauled its garbage system to now pick up recyclables and compostables. I had thought maybe I’d just start using it and not bother with all the work but for some reason I just love doing this. I’m really glad to see them doing it because so much will be diverted from landfill town wide. We still use the town for stuff I don’t put in here (like bones or meat/dairy) but for all else I put through mine.

Last year I wrote about how I make my compost so I won’t go into much detail here. Above is my final setup. There’s a double pallet bin on the right where I collect leaves from the neighbourhood. To the left is the bin I fill all year. Each week I add a layer of kitchen scraps and leaves with some water or snow. Next to it is the first turn and at the far left is the finished stuff ready for next years garden.

If you look back to last years post you can see I’ve did some repairs. Below is a picture at the end of the year. The bins were falling away from the fence and I didn’t really have bins on the left side.

You may also notice leaves on top of the compost. This helps keep the moisture in. There’s also bird netting over top to keep cats out and the wind from blowing the leaves.

I also found that an old dish rack worked much better for sifting 😀

Now time to relax into cold, dark, snowy nights of winter …

--

--