Snow

Lost Books
Invironment
Published in
3 min readOct 27, 2016

--

Feels a little early here, but I have only been in this spot the last few years and haven’t been keeping solid tabs. Wish I had photographed in the morning when the light was better and the snow cover was more dramatic. Alas.

Miscanthus

Sowed oats under wood mulch following garlic.

The idea is the oats will winterkill, decomposing and covering the wildflower seeds I’ve intersown for next year.

Hill Hardy Rosemary at right (below), which I’m hoping will prove to be a cultivar that can tough out winters here.

Dictamos or Dittany of Crete at left above. I got caught a bit with that one, as I was hoping to drop a bag of neighbor-leaves onto it before the frost. Hopefully they’ll survive, but it’s a longshot. We don’t have an exactly Mediterranean climate…

Parsley is a fucking monster, above. There is some lemon verbena mixed in there too. Curious to see who will do what of their own accord next year. Obviously, some divisions will be in order.

Chickens are unphased, but sheltering from cold north-west wind.

This sorghum, above, did not grow in insanely thick and 10 feet tall like in the catalog pic that I saw. But who knows what will happen next year with the seeds that I’ve stocked in the soil from this year…

Flax bowing their heads, above. This plant grew like gangbusters.

Mess of wildflowers and random radishes and stuff behind my shed, above. Strangely successful area… I guess very sheltered and with the gravel not a lot of competitors.

--

--