When Street Dogs Attack Wildlife

Rann of Kutch

I was out with friends in the Little Rann of Kutch on 18th Jan 2016, exploring the sanctuary for Asiatic wild asses and birds, when we came across this beautiful lone Nilgai (Indian Antelope) standing perfectly still. It was a great photo-op. As I zoomed in I noticed its eyes were focused at a point somewhere behind us. Thinking it odd, we took our shots and moved on.

Before we knew it the Nilgai turned around and started sprinting away with two dogs in hot pursuit. Very soon a third dog joined the hunt. The chase continued for a quite a while. The antelope was tiring but the dogs looked like they would go on forever. As much as I love dogs, I mentally rooted for the Nilgai.We didn’t quite expect to see wild dogs or a hunt. I did a second take when I realised these were strays. The sanctuary fringes a village. Never before have I seen strays attack wildlife. There was nothing friendly or domestic about these dogs. They were plain wild. There was something wrong with the whole scenario. It wasn’t the same as watching a wild animal hunting another wild animal!

We kept our eyes on the animals till they disappeared from sight. What happened to the Nilgai? I’ll never know but I’m beginning to think something more needs to be done with managing strays. The incidents of humans being attacked by strays are multiplying. Now they seem to have found new hunting grounds.

Watch the video

youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gEsJnt2zdLg&w=560&h=315

This article first appeared in Earthy Matters/Himalayan Happenings in 2016.

--

--

Lalitha Krishnan earthymatters013@gmail.com
Invironment

I live in the Himalayan foothills and love to document life - wild or otherwise. Podcaster & Potter