5 Ways I Was Changed After Narcissistic Abuse

And why I see these changes as a good thing

Suzanna Quintana
Published in
8 min readSep 24, 2020

--

Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

I am not the woman I once was.

This is not a bad thing, though it took me a long time to understand this due to all the pain involved in how I got from there to here.

And anyone who has been involved with a narcissist knows the pain I speak of.

Healing after a narcissist ripped out my heart and ate it in front of me was no easy task. And the process changed me in ways that weren’t apparent until years later. This is because of what victims of narcissistic abuse endure and then the massive changes to our body, mind, and soul we undergo after escaping.

Make no mistake about it, abuse is traumatic. When that abuse comes at the hands of a narcissist, the residual trauma weaves its way into our DNA and becomes part of who we are.

While in the relationship, I went through over a decade of losing at a game I didn’t even know I was playing. Tactics such as gaslighting, intermittent reinforcement, and love-bombing left me questioning my sanity, bewildered and confused, living in a fog, and constantly doubting all I knew in the past to be true, while…

--

--

Suzanna Quintana
Invisible Illness

My voice is my superpower. Editor-in-Chief of The Virago. Founder of The Online Sanctuary for Healing After Narcissistic Abuse. www.suzannaquintana.com