6 Signs That You Might Need to Change Your Therapist

#2: They share their personal stories with you

Jjyoti
Published in
5 min readJan 4, 2021

--

Photo by nappy from Pexels

Recently I wrote an article about my experience with a toxic therapist. She was my first ever therapist. The first shocking thing she did was to pick up her mobile phone while I was in a vulnerable state and crying my eyes out. She was also dismissive and authoritarian about goal setting for the upcoming sessions.

Luckily, I was able to spot the warning signs in the first session itself. Since she was a college counselor who was being provided for free by the counseling center, I stopped visiting her afterward.

Sometime later, in my conversation with my one of my classmates, she told me that she visited the same counselor for a few months before she even realized that the counselor was engaging in several unethical behaviors.

She kept on giving the counselor the benefit of doubt until it became too explicit to ignore.

This made me wonder about how many people actually continue to visit terrible therapists because they do not know about required ethical behavior in the profession.

Based on my experience as a trainee psychologist, and my last semester‘s paper on counseling ethics, I have decided to detail 6 warning signs that a therapist is engaging in…

--

--