6 Subtle Signs You Are Experiencing Unhealed Trauma

Catherine Mancini
Invisible Illness

--

Image by Anemone123 from Pixabay

I suffered from post-traumatic distress disorder after the birth of my first baby. Unfortunately, it took me a long time to realize it and to begin the healing journey.

Having PTSD prevented me from effectively bonding with my newborn and caused problems in my relationship with my husband. The main problem was that my husband and I didn’t know the signs to look for. Had we known, we would’ve been able to find help for me sooner. With all kinds of mental health issues, early intervention is vital for a quicker recovery.

What is trauma?

When most people think about trauma, they assume that an individual would’ve experienced an extreme event like war, natural disaster or abuse. However, according to Medical News Today, ‘trauma is a response to an event that a person finds highly stressful’. So from that definition, even smaller, everyday events can trigger trauma, such as divorce, the death of a loved one, illness, moving to a new location, and childbirth.

It is important to note that not everyone who experiences a stressful event will be traumatized. However, if you do feel it, it is important to have your feelings resolved and find support.

The signs of trauma

1. You have trouble asking for help

--

--