7 Secret Benefits of Meditation

Reflecting on my path to self-discovery and personal growth.

Samuel Sullivan
Published in
4 min readFeb 6, 2023

--

Photo by Tuncay Uyar on Unsplash

As someone who has always been curious about the benefits of meditation, I decided to take the dive myself and see what the hype was all about.

Over the past seven years of practice, I’ve discovered some truly amazing benefits I would never have expected.

1. Increased Focus and Concentration

When I find my mind racing or my to-do list is out of hand, meditation helps me reset.

After meditating, my focus improves, and I can concentrate on one task at a time. In addition, the duration I can stay on one task has also noticeably improved.

2. Improved Emotional Stability

As a teacher, it’s easy to be overwhelmed with students trying to pull you in twenty directions at once. Sometimes just noticing how many tabs I have open on my computer overwhelms me.

Meditation helps pull me back to equilibrium whenever I feel too far from center.

3. Better Sleep

Meditation has also helped me improve my sleep. I used to ruminate on the day’s events or worry about how my lesson plan would go the next day. It was especially bad if…

--

--

Samuel Sullivan

Student of Life & Teacher by Profession | Creator of the History-centered publication Frame of Reference, Join us!