7 Signs You’ve Given Up on Yourself

And what to do about it

L.A. Strucke
Published in
6 min readJun 17, 2021

--

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I once reached a point in my life where I felt hopeless and stuck. Even though I worked full time, I didn’t have enough money to cover my basic expenses. After paying bills, I barely had enough left for food. I was tired of leaning on well-meaning friends for help with groceries.

One day, I waited in a line of cars for some free produce they were handing out. I hoped no one I knew would see me. It was embarrassing, but I wasn’t the only one who had to resort to charity. There was a long line of people behind me.

Has it happened to you too?

Did you start in life, joyful and excited about the amazing life you were going to have? Someone where along the way, you discovered that life isn’t always kind. Many people, full of promise, encounter obstacles that overwhelm them. And some of the obstacles are so huge, and the disappointments are so damaging, people never recover.

Many of our lives are like that. We’ve been knocked down so many times, we can’t get up. And now we are stuck. Hope is gone — we are just barely making it through the days.

Soon you find yourself waiting in a line of cars for free food. You wonder what happened to your life. Here are 7 signs you’ve given up on yourself.

--

--

L.A. Strucke
Invisible Illness

Top Writer, Songwriter. Published in Chicken Soup for the Soul, Highlights for Children and Guideposts. Editor of The Creative Project.